Mark Erelli

Little Vigils

cover of Little Vigils

released 2010   Hillbilly Pilgrim Productions

buy now

An ode to simplicity, Little Vigils is a tightly packed collection of Erelli's finest work to date. Album opener, “August,” is a timeless paean to the joys of life, while “Everything in Ruin,” is an homage to spring renewal. “Kingdom Come,” and “Mother of Mysteries,” two tracks from the Darwin Song Project are also included, with the former being the most memorable. “Basement Days,” a nostalgic yarn about high school is a driving roots-rocker that uses classic rock phrases and song titles to string together verses, while “Hemlock Grove,” goes after something far darker.

Little Vigils is a deeply engaging disc that finds this Boston singer-songwriter at the top of his game. As with all of his prior releases, his voice is the anchor that keeps each one of the songs grounded. Backed by a veteran band and deft production, the disc is a veritable home run for an artist who seems to never disappoint. Perhaps the best part of Little Vigils is album closer, “Pauline,” a haunting and woozy romance ballad that channels the likes of Ritter and LaMontagne. The song is a new direction for Erelli, harnessing the power of just his voice and a few ethereal effects. It’s a profound step forward and the promise of another sterling record on the horizon.


Produced by Zack Hickman

Recorded by Sam Kassirer at Great North Sound Society
Additional recording by Dan Cardinal at Hi-N-Dry, Chris Rival at Middleville & Zack Hickman at Ceramic Lady Studios
Mixed by Tom Dube
Mastered by Ian Kennedy at New Alliance East, Cambridge MA

Mark Erelli – vocals, acoustic, tenor, hi-strung, baritone & electric guitars, cowbell
Jake Armerding – mandolin, fiddle, vocals
Neil Cleary – drums, percussion, vocals
Zachariah Hickman – upright & electric bass, pump organ, Hammond organ, piano, mandolin, vibes, percussion, vocals
Charlie Rose – banjo, pedal steel, cello, acoustic guitar

Additional musicians:
Rose Cousins – vocals (3,7)
Liam Hurley – drums (9)
Sam Kassirer – piano, vibes, organ (9)
Austin Nevins – baritone & electric guitar, lap steel (9)
Aoife O’Donovan – vocals (9)
Rose Polenzani – vocals (3,7)

updated: 3 years ago