Mark Erelli

Seven Curses

cover of Seven Curses

released 2010

buy now

A few years ago Mark sat down with longtime friend Jeffrey Foucault to record a collection of murder ballads. The result - two nights, two chairs, a dozen stories, and a handful of old guitars - matched an elemental approach to the elemental subjects, love and death.

Starkly recorded, with a list of songs that includes Blackie Farrell’s dusty cowboy ballad ‘Sonora’s Death Row’, Neil Young’s mystical narrative ‘Powderfinger’, Porter Wagoner’s darkly comic ‘The First Mrs. Jones’, and Paul Siebel’s aching classic ‘Louise’, Seven Curses is raucous and chilling, raw and poignant, an expansive interpretation of a classic American genre.

Recorded & Mixed by Justin Pizzoferrato, Bank Row Studio, Greenfield MA
Mastered by Alex McCullough at Yes Master

Mark Erelli - vocals, acoustic & tenor guitars, mandolin, harmonica
Jeffrey Foucault - vocals, acoustic & slide guitars, electric guitar, ukelele, guitar-banjo

updated: 3 years ago