Barnstar! - C'mon! (2011)

cover of Barnstar! - C'mon! (2011)

view a larger image

released 2011



"C'mon!" is the debut record from Barnstar!  Sure, the elements are familiar, mandolins, banjos, and soaring four or five-part harmonies, but this ain't your daddy's bluegrass (though I guess in the case of Jake Armerding it is...his dad is in the band).  But this record owes as much to the spirit of The Traveling Wilburys as it does to The Louvin Brothers.  Featuring songs by Neil Young ("Cowgirl In The Sand"), Paul Simon ("Boy In The Bubble"), and Dawes ("When My Time Comes") alongside re-worked tunes of mine ("Troubadour Blues," "Take My Ashes To The River"), as well as a never-before-recorded original ("Charlottesville"), "C'mon!" is a bold and energetic snapshot of a scrappy, vibrant bluegrass band.

Barnstar! is:
Jake Armerding – fiddle, vocals,
Taylor “Old Train” Armerding – mandolin, vocals
Mark Erelli – guitar, vocals
Zachariah Hickman – double bass, vocals
Charlie Rose – banjo, vocals

updated 12 months ago